Governor's FY 2020 Budget: Articles

Staff Presentation to the House Finance Committee March 19, 2019

Introduction

- Article 5, Section 5
 - Job Development Assessment
- Article 13
 - Minimum Wage
- Article 14
 - Healthcare Market Stability
- Article 16, Section 4
 - Employer Public Assistance Assessment

- Unemployment insurance taxes are paid by employers
 - Federal and state component
 - Federal tax used for:
 - Administrative expenses
 - Loans to states when needed to pay benefits
 - Partially reimburse states for extended benefits
 - State tax used solely for benefits

- State has 9 tax schedules: A I
 - Each schedule has 28 tax rate groups
- Schedules based on reserve ratio of fund as of September 30 of prior year
 - Trust Fund balance divided by total wages paid during year = reserve ratio
- Individual rates based on employer's level of reserves

- Employers who pay UI taxes also subject to additional 0.21% job development assessment
- Directed to the Job
 Development Fund
 - Admin. expenses
 - Programs
 - Lost federal funds

Schedule - Level	JDF	UI	Total
H - 3	0.21%	1.29%	1.50%
G - 6	0.21%	1.79%	2.00%
G - 15	0.21%	4.19%	4.40%
F - 5	0.21%	1.29%	1.50%
F - 28	0.21%	9.19%	9.40%

- Job Development Fund
 - Under current law, 0.02% of the JDF tax is dedicated to support core services
 - Unemployment insurance
 - Employment services programs
 - Remaining 0.19% is allocated at the discretion of the Governor's Workforce Board
 - Subject to appropriation

- Governor's Workforce Board
 - Policy-making body on workforce development
 - 23 members on Board, appointed by Governor
 - 18 members must be from the public
 - Invests in a wide range of programs and services
 - Real Jobs RI, internships, incumbent worker training, continuing adult education

- Job Development Fund
 - 2018 Assembly approved one-time adjustment to assessment for calendar year 2019
 - Increases the amount that goes to JDF
 - Usually 0.21%, 0.29% for 2019
 - Employers do not pay additional taxes
 - Total impact \$6.7 million more for the JDF

- Article 5 expands JDF to non-profits with 1,000 or more employees
 - Effective January 2020
 - Estimated to impact 11 employers
 - Approximately \$50 tax per employee
 - Estimated new revenue \$1.2 million
 For use for Real Jobs RI
 - New source would partially cover loss of revenue following end of the one-time adjustment

 Increases minimum wage from \$10.50 to \$11.10 per hour

Effective January 1, 2020

- 2017 Assembly increased from \$9.60 to \$10.50 per hour
 - Two year increase, full effect January 1, 2019

New England State	Minimum Wage
Connecticut	\$10.10
Maine	\$11.00
Massachusetts	\$12.00
New Hampshire	\$7.25
Rhode Island	\$10.50
Vermont	\$10.78
New England Average	\$10.27
U.S. Average	\$8.77

Data from United States Department of Labor as of 1/1/19

Rank	State	Minimum
1	D.C.	\$14.00
2	CA, MA, WA	\$12.00
5	OR	\$11.25
6	CO, NY	\$11.10
8	AZ, ME	\$11.00
10	VT	\$10.78
11	RI	\$10.50

Data from United States Department of Labor as of 1/1/19

Article 13 – Minimum Wage Nóriheast \$9/37/hour **Midwest** West \$8.26/hour \$9.49/hour South \$7.85/hour U.S. Census Bureau and Dept. of Labor

State Minimum Wage Cohorts					
\$7.25	21	42%			
\$7.26 - \$8.50	5	10%			
\$8.51 - \$9.75	9	18%			
> \$9.76	15	30%			
Total	50	100%			

Data from United States Department of Labor as of 1/1/19 Federal minimum wage last raised July 2009

- DLT estimates 30,000 RI workers were impacted by last increase
- Direct state budget impact relates only to the Department of Environmental Management
 - Certain seasonal workers
 - Estimated FY 2020 impact ~\$90,000
 - Annual impact roughly twice that
 - Included in the Governor's budget

- Budget does not assume impact for all state services provided through contracts that pay workers close to minimum wage
 Does include increase for some of those who work with developmentally disabled individuals
 - Budget adds \$3.0 million from general revenues for this group
 - \$6.4 million from all funds
 - Wage would increase from \$12.27 to \$12.68

Summary

- Article 5, Section 5
 - Job Development Assessment
- Article 13
 - Minimum Wage
- Article 14
 - Healthcare Market Stability
- Article 16, Section 4
 - Employer Public Assistance Assessment

Article 14 – Introduction

- Affordable Care Act
 Federal changes
- Short-term Limited Duration
- State Individual Mandate
- Reinsurance Program

- Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010
 - Also called ACA, Obamacare
- Aims at decreasing number of uninsured individuals
- Required all individuals to have medical coverage or pay a penalty
 - Certain exemptions allowed

- Affordable Care Act key provisionsInsurers were prohibited from
 - Imposing dollar limits on benefits
 - Dropping policyholders when they get sick
 - Excluding pre-existing medical conditions
- Allows states to extend Medicaid benefits to non-disabled, adults w/o dependents children at or below 138% poverty as of Jan. 1, 2014
 - 2013 Legislation adopted in RI

- ACA authorized U.S. Health & Human Services & Treasury to allow states to establish programs waiving certain provisions of the Act
 - 1332 Waiver
- 2018 Assembly adopted legislation to initiative waiver process
- State is preparing waiver application
 - Actuarial analysis must be conducted
 - Funding source must be identified

- ACA criteria that must be met for granting waiver
 - Provide coverage that is at least as comprehensive in covered benefits
 - Affordable coverage
 - Scope
 - To at least a comparable number of state residents
 - Federal deficit
 - Must not increase federal deficit

- Constitutionality of individual mandate provision was challenged
 - 2012 U.S. Supreme Court upheld
 - 2017 Congress passed Tax Cuts and Jobs Act
 - Reduced penalty payment to \$0
 - Effective January 1, 2019
 - August 2018 U.S. Departments of Health and Human Services, Labor, and Treasury
 - Issued rule to expand definition of short-term limited duration coverage (STLD)

- Short-term limited duration insurance
 - Designed to fill gaps in coverage
 - In between jobs
 - Exempt from definition of insurance coverage in individual market
- Affordable Care Act
 - Must meet essential health insurance coverage
 - Maternity
 - Prescription drugs
 - Mental health services

- Federal rule change redefined
 - Can cover longer periods
 - Up to 12 months
 - May be renewed up to 36 months
 - States can impose requirements for consumer notice
- RIGL exempts short-term policies from regulation in individual market
 - Regulated under small group (2-50) and large group (51+) markets

- Article 14 removes exemption status of short-term limited policies
 - Defines as health insurance coverage
 - Subject to regulation and oversight by Office of the Health Insurance Commissioner
 - Same manner as small and large group markets
 - Effective upon passage
 - No current policies offered

- Federal penalty reduced to \$0
 - Anticipated that individuals will leave market
 - Cause instability in individual market
 - Unbalanced risk pool
 - Increase number of uninsured
 - Dramatic increases in premium
 - Largely impact those not receiving federal advanced premium tax credit

- Imposes Shared Responsibility Payment Penalty
 - Individuals without health insurance coverage, effective Jan. 1, 2020
 - Certain exemptions
 - Payment to be collected by Taxation
 - Restrict uses:
 - Reinsurance or payments to health insurance carriers
 - Administrative costs
 - Residual funds preventative health care programs

- Federal Individual Shared Responsibility Payment was phased-in over 3-yrs.
 - Capped at value of bronze plan

Year	Penalty	At least	Or % of Income
2014	\$95/adult & \$47.50/child	\$285	1.0%
2015	\$325/adult & \$162.50/child	\$975	2.0%
2016	\$695/adult & \$347.50/child	\$2,085	2.5%
2016+	Increase annually by COLA		

- RI Shared Responsibility Payment Penalty
 - Modeled after fully phased in ACA penalty, except
 - Penalty is caped at statewide avg. premium for bronze plans offered through Exchange

	2017		2018		2019*	
	Average Annual Bronze Premium					
	U.S.	RI	U.S.	RI	U.S.	RI
Individual	\$3,264	\$2,052	\$3,396	\$2,220	\$	\$2,388
Fam. of 4	\$13,056	\$8,208	\$13,584	\$8,880	\$	\$9,552

*2019 national data not yet available

Rhode Island	2014	2015	2016
Total Filers	521,980	529,510	529,380
Filers who paid penalty	23,540	21,320	16,320
Percent of totals filers	4.5%	4.0%	3.1%
Amount of payment reported in	\$4.3	\$8.6	\$10.7

\$ in millions



Exemptions

- Religious conscience and hardship
 - To be determined by HealthSource RI
 - Appeal process in accordance with Administrative Procedures Act
- Income level
 - Gross income below state filling threshold
- Out-of-state resident
 - Can not impose for month(s) an individual was resident of another state

2018 HSRI Individual Market Enrollment



- Penalty payment collected by Taxation
 - Deposited in Health Insurance Market Integrity Fund
 - Exempts receipts from 10% indirect cost recovery
- Allows tax administrator to notify individuals of payment owed
 - If not paid
 - Any refund due will be reduced
 - Can withhold future tax refunds

ACA Enforcement

- Taxpayers who do not make penalty payment are not subject to
 - Levies, liens, or criminal prosecution

Treasury Inspector for Tax Administration

- Reported that 92.4% of filers who reported a owing a penalty for tax year 2015
 - Paid in as refund reduction
 - Made payment at time of filing
- Penalty payment is eff. Jan. 1, 2020 for individuals with no health insurance
- Collections begin as soon as individuals start filing 2020 taxes
 - January 2021
- Funds from penalty payment may be included in FY 2021 budget
 - Make payments to health insurance carriers
 - Administrative expenses

- Empowers HealthSourceRI to coordinate outreach efforts
 - Office of the Health Insurance Commissioner
 - Division of Taxation
- FY 2020 budget includes \$400K from general revenues for implementation
 - Awareness campaign
 - Actuarial analyses
 - May be needed for Division of Taxation

Data Sharing

- Requires Taxation to disclose to HealthSource RI & its contractors
 - Name, age, mailing address, income & penalty amount
- Individuals without minimum essential coverage
 Requires Taxation & HealthSource RI to develop data privacy & security safeguards

- Reinsurance Program designed to provide stability in individual insurance market
 - Funded through
 - Shared Responsibility Payment Penalty
 - Federal funds savings
 - Difference from Advanced Premium Tax Credit and lower premium as a result of reinsurance program
 - Funds would be used to make payments to health insurance carriers
 - Ensure that premiums do not increase drastically

- Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
 - Approved application for 8 states
 - Alaska, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oregon and Wisconsin
 - Application deemed incomplete
 - Massachusetts, Ohio and Vermont

National Conference of State Legislatures

- At least 35 states have considered legislation to initiate 1332 waiver process
 - As of October 2018

State	Year	Projected Cost	Federal Funds	Funding
Alaska	2018	\$60M	\$58M	Premium tax
Maine	2019	\$93M	\$33.4M	Insurer fee & \$4PMPM
Maryland	2019- 2021	\$970M	\$605M	Assessments on insurers
Minnesota	2019	\$271M	\$130.7M	State funds
New Jersey	2019	\$324M	\$218M	State funds & penalty
Oregon	2018	\$90M	\$51.5M	Premium assess & other sources
Wisconsin	2019	\$200M	\$166M	State funds

Summary

- Article 5, Section 5
 - Job Development Assessment
- Article 13
 - Minimum Wage
- Article 14
 - Healthcare Market Stability
- Article 16, Section 4
 - Employer Public Assistance Assessment

- Section 4 of Article 16 imposes a new employer public assistance assessment
 - Quarterly assessment of 10% of wages for each employee who receives Medicaid for the entire quarter
 - Not to exceed \$1,500 annually for employee from same employer

Different employer may pay for same employee

- Applies to employers with 300 or more employees
 - Does not include non-profit or governmental entities

- Does not apply to "working disabled adults"
 - Definition will be set in regulation
 - Revenue estimate calculation excluded disabled adults enrolled in Rhody Health Partners & Rhody Health Options
 - There are others who might be considered disabled but not enrolled in these plans
 - Fee for service

RI Medicaid FY 2020

Programs – FY 2020 CEC	# of enrollees	Monthly Cost/Each	Annual Cost
RIte Care – Families	155,544	\$255	\$3,063
RIte Care – Children w/ Special Health Needs	9,688	\$1,012	\$12,147
RIte Share	5,069	\$81	\$977
Rhody Health Partners – Disabled Adults	14,334	\$1,517	\$18,209
Rhody Health Partners – Expansion Population	72,293	\$519	\$6,222
Rhody Health Options - LTC	15,081	\$732	\$8,789
Fee for Service	32,753	\$1,973	\$23,678
Total	304,762	\$606	\$7,278

- Individual on Medicaid Expansion program
 - Annual income cannot exceed \$17,236
- Works two part-time jobs for qualifying employers

Employer	Annual Wages	Assessment	Assessment Cap
#1	\$10,000	\$1,000	\$1,500
#2	7,100	710	\$1,500
Total	\$17,100	\$1,710	

- To be administered by Labor and Training
 - Data sharing among the Departments of Revenue, Human Services, and EOHHS

Regulations to be in consultation with all
 Governor's FY 2020 budget assumes collections start October 1, 2019

- Revenues totaling \$15.6 million for FY 2020
 - Out-years assume \$19.5 million for FY 2021
- Offset by \$1.1 million in administrative expenses in the DLT

- DLT & DHS will promulgate the regulations
 - In consultation with EOHHS and Revenue
- Data sharing between the agencies, including DOA
 - Not to be made public
- Is an appeal process and employer can ask DHS to review eligibility of the employee

Estimated Impact by Industry*	# of Employers	# of Employees	Total
Retail Trade	30	7,462	\$4.7
Administrative & Support/Waste Mgt.	24	6,222	3.5
Accommodation & Food Services	16	3,040	1.8
Finance/Insurance & Manufacturing	31	1,682	1.8
Health Care & Social Services	17	2,146	1.7
Management & Professional/ Scientific & Tech. Services	10	854	0.6
All Other	16	1,873	1.4
Total	144	23,279	\$15.6

\$ in millions/*North American industry Classification System (NAICS)

- Massachusetts has an Employer Medical Assistance Contribution (EMAC)
 - Assessment based on how long the employer has been in business
 - Max \$51 fee per employee
 - Assessment increased to \$77 max for two years
 - Sunsets December 31, 2019
 - Supplemental assessment applied to narrower group also adopted for same 2year period

- EMAC Supplement eff. 2018 & 2019
 - Applies to companies with 6 or more employees
 - 5% of wages of non-disabled employees continuously enrolled in MassHealth and Connector
 - For at least 56 days in a quarter making at least \$500
 - Capped at \$750 per employee & applies to any entity subject to unemployment insurance law

EMAC Supplement

- To offset some of cost, MA modified its UI schedule reducing its scheduled increase for employer contributions for 2018 and 2019
- Saving employers \$335 million over two years compared to expected rates
- MA allows a waiver if results in company going out of business or laying off staff
 - As of Nov 2018, 246 business applied
 - 99 approved;144 denied and 3 withdrawn

Comparison To MA

	RI	MA	
Program	Employer Public Assistance Assessment	EMAC	EMAC Supplement
Assessment	10% up to \$1,500 per Medicaid employee	Up to \$51 per employee covered by UI law after 5-year phase in Increased to \$77 for 2018 & 2019 only	5% up to \$750 per employee on Govt. subsidized health care
Exempt	Disabled adults Government and non- profit entities	None	Disabled
Employees	No less than 300	6 or more	
Sunset	None	None	12/31/2019

Comparison To MA

	RI		MA
Program	Employer Public Assistance Assessment	EMAC	EMAC Supplement
Appeal Process	Within 15 days of receiving notice of determination Decision is considered a final agency order	N/A	Within 10 days of receipts and limited to specific issues
Data Sharing	Not made public	Not made public	
Revenues	\$15.6 million eff. Oct. 1 \$19.5 million FY 2021	Estimated at \$400 million total over 2 years	

Governor's FY 2020 Budget: Articles

Staff Presentation to the House Finance Committee March 19, 2019